Poetry Competitions

As well as submitting poems to magazines and journals, it’s a good idea to enter your work in competitions. With that in mind, I did a quick search online today. Here is a list from The Hunter Writers Centre. Note that the submission deadline for the first one is 31 March, 2021. So get those entries in now.

W B Yeats Poetry Prize for Australia

Adelaide Plains Poets Inc Poetry Competition – Poetic Pause blogspot

National Henry Lawson Society Poetry Competition

Bronze Swagman Award

Stinging Fly

The Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize

Eastwood/Hills Fellowship of Australian Writers Literary Competition

Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards

Scribes Writers – “Poetic Licence”

Ledbury Poetry Festival Poetry Competition

Vallum Award for Poetry

Ipswich Poetry Feast International Poetry Writing Competition

Montreal Poetry Prize

Australian Bush Poetry Events Calendar including latest The Kembla Flame

Knightville Poetry Contest- The New Guard Review

Thunderbolt Prize

Woorilla Poetry Prize

Peter Porter Poetry Prize

KSP Poetry Awards

Something or Other Publishing: Anthology Program

7 thoughts on “Poetry Competitions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s